The Final Countdown

This is it, the end of the semester is less than a week away. This time next week I’ll be back in Illinois visiting my friends and family and preparing to teach the next level of French.

Thankfully, I only have two finals to take next week and I’m feeling pretty confident about them. That means that this weekend will be spent making the final preparations for the final that I’m giving on Monday and preparing for the presentation that I have to give for my final grade in poetry. After that, I just have to grade finals (“just” makes it sound so easy…) and plug final exam grades into the scores I already have calculated. The grades aren’t due until December 26th, but I’m planning to have them in before I leave the state.

On top of all of that productivity, I went through next semester’s portion of the textbook and wrote summaries of activities for each section. My goal is to get away from using the textbook in class and really try to work with students to figure out how French can help them personally. I’ll be spending more time with it over break, but I think I’m off to a really good start so far and I can’t wait!

It’s so hard to believe that this semester is already over, let alone this whole year. 2014 definitely had its ups and downs, and they were pretty extreme ups and downs. I’m hoping that 2015 comes in a lot quieter and at least makes up for some of the rough spots from this year.

But 2014 isn’t over just yet! One more week of school and then it’s time for holiday festivities with some of the greatest people a girl could ask to spend time with. It’s been a crazy semester, but we’re almost there!

“Whatever it takes to finish things, finish. You will learn more from a glorious failure than you ever will from something you never finished.”
― Neil Gaiman

One thought on “The Final Countdown

Leave a comment